•  Board of Education Information

    • This page contains links to information about School Board members, agendas, policies and administrative regulations, and any advisory committee information. 

      To contact the Board as a group by e-mail please click here 
      NOTE: Written communications with public officials generally are considered a public record and subject to disclosure (viewing and/or copying of the communication) pursuant to a public records request.

    Nome Public Schools Board of Education Meeting Information

    The Nome Public Schools Board of Education meets at the following times: Regular meetings take place on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Nome Elementary School Library.

    * Work Sessions take place on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Nome Elementary School Library.

    **unless otherwise scheduled (for schedule changes contact the District Office at 443-2231)

    Board President

    Mrs. Sandy Martinson

    Sandy Martinson

    Sandy Martinson has extensive experience within the justice system and with reentry. She has served the State of Alaska for the past 19 years; for twelve years as a Probation / Parole Officer at Fairbanks Probation and Nome Probation and for seven years as the Superintendent at Anvil Mountain Correction Center. She earned her Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice and her Master’s degree in Administration of Justice from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

    Sandy is an active community leader and is dedicated to the success of her community. She has served as the treasurer and currently the president of the Nome Public School Board, and is a member of the Seaside Advisory Board, Nome Reentry Coalition Taskforce, Sex Offender Treatment Provider Committee, Housing Coalition, Local Emergency Planning Committee, Public Safety Coalition, and is a Girl Scout Leader.

    She is a dependable and active volunteer with her children’s education and extracurricular activities.  Starting when they were in preschool, she began serving on the Nome Preschool Board.  As they have grown, she maintained an active and reliable presence in their sports, fundraising, events, classroom, lunchroom and entrepreneur efforts (Lemonade Day, Girl Scout cookie sales, etc.).

    Her vision for the Nome Public School system in the next ten years is to be a high-achieving district by focusing on student learning, modernizing, and staff development.

    Board Vice President/Clerk

    Dr. Barb Amarok

    Dr. Barbara Amarok  

    Barb (QasuGlana) Amarok is the daughter of IlliaaGlak and granddaughter of Amaguaq and Maiyak. She is the Director of the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) Northwest Campus in Nome, and serves as the Vice President of the Nome Board of Education, as a Director with the Association of Alaska School Boards, and as the Chair of the Sitnasuak Native Corporation Board of Directors. Barb holds a Bachelors degree in Elementary Education, and earned a Masters degree in Educational Leadership through the University of Alaska Anchorage and a doctoral degree in Indigenous Education through UAF.

    Board Treasurer

    Ms. Jill Peters

    Ms. Jill Peters

    Jill Peters works at Arctic Access as a Job Coach for teens, recent high school graduates, and young adults helping them transition from high school into the work world. Jill worked at Beltz for six years as a Special Education Teacher.

    Board Member

    Mrs. Nancy Mendenhall

    Nancy Mendenhall

    Nancy Mendenhall has worked in various levels of public education in several parts of Alaska, teaching, administration, and board work since 1961. She has a BA and MA In English. She has lived in Nome since 1973, is married to Perry Mendenhall, and almost all of her children and grandchildren have attended school in Nome. She retired from UAF Northwest Campus after nine years as the Campus Director in 1996. She is presently in a third term as a Nome School District Board member. She is a member of the Nome Arts Council, Writers 49, ACLU, Alaska Marine Conservation Council and other cultural and environmental groups.

    Board Member

    Ms. Darlene Trigg

  • Board Members 

    Mrs. Sandy Martinson - President

    Dr. Barb Amarok - Vice President/Clerk

    Ms. Jill Peters - Treasurer

    Mrs. Nancy Mendenhall 

    Ms. Darlene Trigg