Board of Education » Home


Board of Education Information

  • This page contains links to information about School Board members, agendas, policies and administrative regulations, and any advisory committee information. 

NOTE: Written communications with public officials generally are considered a public record and subject to disclosure (viewing and/or copying of the communication) pursuant to a public records request.

Nome Public Schools Board of Education Meeting Information

The Nome Public Schools Board of Education meets at the following times: Regular meetings take place on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Nome Elementary School Library.

* Work Sessions take place on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Nome Elementary School Library.

**unless otherwise scheduled (for schedule changes contact the District Office at 443-2231)

Board President

Ms. Darlene Trigg
Darlene Paqpaluk Trigg (Iñupiaq) is originally from Nome, Alaska and is the daughter of Jerome and Barbara Trigg. She is the wife of Keith Morrison, mother of 3 children: Gwendalyn, Owen and Paris, and grandmother to Kangisaq. Darlene is passionate about her culture and land. She hopes to pass this on to her children and granddaughter.
Darlene currently works for Kawerak, Inc. as their Vice President of Human Resources. Darlene has previously worked for NHSC in different capacities and has over 15 years of experience in the tribal health system.
Darlene has also worked for First Alaskans Institute as their Social Justice Manager and was responsible for the project management of the Advancing Native Dialogues on Racial Equity (ANDORE) project through the Alaska Native Policy Center and the creation of a collective impact project for Racial Equity in Alaska. This initiative builds on the Alaska Native Dialogues on Racial Equity work that FAI has been engaged in since 2010.

Board Vice President / Clerk

Bob Metcalf
Bob moved to Nome in 1976 after graduating from Washington & Lee University. His first paying job was as a school bus driver for Morgan Enterprises. Through the years, he worked for Munz Northern Airlines, Ryan Air, NSHC, Alaska Airlines, and eventually the Northwest Campus where he retired after 28 years working in enrollment, student services, and administration, He learned much and is thankful for the opportunity to work with many talented, committed, and hard-working people. He is married to Vera and is honored to be part of her family, and their son, Mattox, attended NPS K-12 and graduated from NBHS in 1998.

Board Treasurer

Marjorie Tahbone
Marjorie Kunaq Tahbone- Nome-Beltz Alumni class of 2007 grew up in Nome. She graduated from UAF with a bachelors in Alaska Native Studies with a Minor in Inupiaq Language. She is a strong advocate for our youth and works hard to teach cultural skills throughout the Bering Strait Region. 

Board Member

Mrs. Nancy Mendenhall

Nancy Mendenhall has worked in various levels of public education in several parts of Alaska, teaching, administration, and board work since 1961. She has a BA and MA in English. She has lived in Nome since 1973, was married to the late Perry Mendenhall, and almost all of her children and grandchildren have attended school in Nome. She retired from UAF Northwest Campus after nine years as the Campus Director in 1996. She is presently in a third term as a Nome School District Board member. She is a member of the Nome Arts Council, Writers 49, ACLU, Alaska Marine Conservation Council and other cultural and environmental groups.

Board Member

Jon Gregg

Biography coming soon.

Board Members 

Ms. Darlene Trigg - President
Mr. Bob Metcalf - Vice President/Clerk
Ms. Marjorie Tahbone - Treasurer
Mr. Jon Gregg
Mrs. Nancy Mendenhall 

School Board Meeting Information

Minutes will be available the following month after approval at the Regular Board of Education Meeting.
You may request a copy of the approved minutes for any board meeting by contacting Nome Public Schools 907-443-2231.

NPS Board Meeting Minutes

Click on the meeting date to access the Agenda
*Meeting agendas and minutes after April 1, 2019 are available via BoardBook.

Important Links